General Information


Fire Chief

William L. McDonald

Deputy Chief, Operations

Ryan Nishimoto

Deputy Chief, Communications and Support Services

Eric Moore

Deputy Chief, Fire and Life Safety Services

Derrick Thomas

Administrative Services Director

Annie Thomson

Area of Service:

Approximately 508 square miles with a daytime population of 400,000 people, including unincorporated Alameda County, five incorporated cities, and the Lawrence Berkeley and Livermore National Laboratories.


Department Facts:

  • 4 Battalions
  • 27 Fire Stations
  • 26 Engine Companies
  • 7 Ladder Truck Companies
  • 1 Heavy Rescue Vehicle
  • 2 Ambulances
  • 2 Bulldozers
  • 3 Rescue Boats

Specialized Equipment:

  • Air/Light Support Unit
  • 2500 Gallon Water Tender
  • Hazardous Material Response Vehicles

2 fire trucks

Specialized Response Teams:

Hazardous Materials, Urban Search & Rescue, Water Rescue

Fiscal year 2020-2021 Budget:


Authorized Positions:


Reserve Firefighters:


The Organization

THE ALAMEDA COUNTY FIRE DEPARTMENT (ACFD) provides all-risk emergency services to the unincorporated areas of Alameda County (excluding Fairview), the cities of San Leandro, Dublin, Newark, Union City and Emeryville, the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory and the Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory. With 29 fire stations and 35 companies serving a population of 394,000, the ACFD serves densely populated urban areas, waterways, industrialized centers, extensive urban interface, agricultural and wildland regions. Over 400 personnel and 100 Reserve Firefighters provide a wide variety of services to an ever expanding, dynamic and diverse area of roughly 508 square miles. These services include:

  • Advanced Life Support
  • Fire Suppression
  • Hazardous Materials Response
  • Urban Search & Rescue
  • Water Rescue
  • Community Outreach & Education
  • Disaster Preparedness
  • Fire Prevention and Code Compliance
  • Regional Dispatch

The Alameda County Fire Department (ACFD) was formed on July 1, 1993 as a dependent special district with the Alameda County Board of Supervisors as its governing body. This consolidation brought together into a single jurisdiction the Castro Valley Fire Department, Eden Consolidated Fire Protection District and County Fire Patrol (each a dependent special district under the Board of Supervisors).

Subsequently, the following communities have consolidated with the ACFD:

  • July 1, 1995 City of San Leandro
  • July 1, 1997 City of Dublin
  • August 1, 2002 Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
  • October 1, 2007 Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
  • January 20, 2008 Alameda County Regional Emergency Communications Center (ACRECC)
  • May 1, 2010 City of Newark
  • July 1, 2010 City of Union City
  • July 1, 2012 City of Emeryville

The ACFD is also responsible for the administration and operation of the Alameda County Regional Emergency Communications Center (ACRECC). The dispatch center provides dispatch and regional communication center services for the ACFD, the Alameda County Emergency Medical Services Agency, Camp Parks Combat Support Training Center, and the cities of Alameda, Fremont, Livermore and Pleasanton. ACRECC is also the Dispatch/System Status Management Center for Paramedics Plus ambulance service.